Headband alert !

I know it is Spring, and the days are warmer, but frankly it is very windy here in the South West and my ears are always grateful if I can protect them. So I have always a headband in my coat pocket.

The first one I knitted was a Drops design pattern I lost long ago, and it has done the job just right, seeing me through the winter months.

Since my stash is till growing (I know, I know, how is that even possible ? I have so many works in progress it should be shrinking… Somehow I don’t think the laws of physics apply to wool stash… nor does my engineer husband !), since my stash is still growing, was I saying, I need to find ways to get rid of some wool…

IMG_20160415_104907

I have had this Phildar Carnaval for a very long time… So long that it is discontinued now. With only 2 balls, I tried to make a cowl but didn’t have enough. So I thought headband.

So here it is – only an hour later. Since this wool is very chunky, I used 8mm needles. And garter stitch. Super fast. Super easy.

IMG_20160415_110843

So here is the pattern !

Grey Sky Headband

Super chunky wool (about 25m). 8mm knitting needles.

Cast on 32 stitches.

Row 1 – Knit

Row 2 : make 2, knit until end of row. (34 st)

Row 3 : knit until endo of row, make 2. (36 st)

Row 4 :  make 2, knit until end of row. (38 st)

Row 5 : knit until end of row, make 2. (40 st)

Row 6 – 10 : knit.

Row 11 – 14 : double decrease (slip one on you knitting needle, knit 2 together, pass over the first stitch), knit until the end. (32 st)

Row 15 : cast off all stitches, leaving a long tail.

IMG_20160415_110910

To finish off, sew the ends together. Wear proudly !

img_20160415_111602.jpg

But now… what shall I do with the 45 grams of wool left ?! Any idea, let me know !

 

 

2 thoughts on “Headband alert !

Leave a Reply

