Reading and knitting : yarning along

This week, I am still busy with my Curious Handmade Shawl Society II Sprite’s Fen shawl, and I do enjoy the soft alpaca wool, the calming colours and the repetitive pattern. It suits my mood, somehow !

I started a new book, found at my local library on the “new books” shelf. It is called Vigilante, by Shelley Harris.

This is the story of a mum / wife / charity bookshop manager who realises her life is not what she thought it would be years ago. She feels she has lost her ways, and her grip on her life. She feels empty and useless… Middle age crisis, in a way.

One night her life changes. One outfit makes her do things she wasn’t thinking she could do. And she starts a double life of sorts.

I don’t want to say more, because it would spoil it all. I just like the way this book is written, the trail of thoughts. It is very gripping, I realise there is a serious lack of communication between her and her husband, her and her daughter, and lots of things are assumed but not spoken. Not asked. It happens in life, we all do this, the little voice in our head knows it all and we do not see the point in asking for reassurance or making sure what the voice said is real…

I think I will finish this book, tonight. But I will not tell you how it ends !

 

4 thoughts on “Reading and knitting : yarning along

    1. Thanks Jennifer ! Let me know what you think if you read the book πŸ˜‰. And I promise I will post a photo of the shawl when it’s finished ! πŸ˜€

      Like

    1. Thanks Rachel ! I love how the colours of the yarn are so in sync with the name of the shawl ! Eerie ! Let me know if you decide to cast it on πŸ˜‰. I will look out for Jubilee… I’m sure my library has a copy !

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

